Skip to content

Lost in the Manga…

March 5, 2012

Every other year my home town of Wellington holds an international arts festival.  A month’s worth of drama, music, dance and literature from around the world.  It really is very cool.

Last night my wife and I went to see Tezuka, which is a new dance piece from Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and the dancers from Sadler’s Wells. The show charts the career of Japanese manga artist Osamu Tezuka – “the ‘Walt Disney of Anime’ and the inventor of Astro Boy”.  Rather strangely it does this against the backdrop of a lecture about bacteria and is narrated in French (why I am not sure).

I know next to notthing about Manga, and I always love seeing new things, so I am really pleased we went along to this performance.  It’s fair to say I didn’t ‘get it’ though.  For me there was too much talk of bacteria, use of audio visuals, people slapping walls and use of sur-titiles (for the French narration).  I was pleased with the odd-ness qotient though – my favourite bit being when the yellow tentacle papier mache monster turned out to be the French narrator, in his pyjamas, who was then eaten (in an oddly sexual way) by an insect woman held aloft by insect minions.  Well, at least that ended the French commentary….

From → Random Musings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

