Skip to content

Epilogue

May 26, 2012

The sun crept up above the horizon, a sun I didn’t think I would ever see again. Its light reached us and I basked in its glory.

Sarah sat next to me. She hadn’t said a word since we had touched down. It had been a messy landing, but I’d had worse, I knew that for certain. It had taken all my remaining energy to get out of the cockpit and slump onto the ground in the field. I hadn’t noticed when Sarah had joined me. She looked haggard and tired. I couldn’t know what she had gone through, these past months, a prisoner as I had been.

“You’re going to need to get that looked at you know.” She nodded at my wrist, the skin tattered and oozing. I nodded. I must look even more of a state than her.

“You don’t remember who you are, even now, do you?” she asked.

It was a difficult question, now more than ever. I wasn’t sure how to answer. I knew some of who I was, who I used to be. But who was I now? I just didn’t know. The silence dragged on.

“Tell me, what do you remember of me?” Sarah asked.

I was surprised at the question. I looked across at her, the early morning light catching he dark brown hair, her serious brown eyes, and her curved lips. Something stirred within me, but I wasn’t sure what.

“I remember you bringing me food. Other than that, I know nothing about you.” For some reason I laughed. It felt good, the sound warm and natural. “I don’t know why, but I feel like I would like to know more.”

Together with the laugh it sounded like a joke, but I wasn’t sure it was. It could have been a trick of the light, but I think I saw a small smile on Sarah’s lips as she turned away to face the dawn.

From → Story

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

